God is Satisfied with Jesus

What are you more conscious of today — your sins, or the forgiveness of your sins?   If your answer is “my sins,” then I encourage you to read this post.  For Jesus came to finish the sin issue between you and God.  He came to satisfy everything God had against you.

Paul said, It is for freedom that Christ has set you free. You are not free if you live with condemnation, that gnawing sense that you’re always blowing it; that God is constantly disappointed, disgusted or mad at you.  I lived that way for years.  My freedom and rest level was zero.

For years I believed that when Jesus said, It is finished,  He  just meant He had completed His work on earth and now was going to heaven to be with His Father.  Then one day I saw it:  IT IS FINISHEDThe sin issue has been finished in the eyes of God!  The perfect Lamb of God had met God’s stringent requirements of righteousness, and had laid down His life for you and me.  All that was left for me to do was receive it.  When you received Christ, you received complete forgiveness, once, and for all eternity, in Him.  But are you experiencing it yet?

The Cross is everything!   Here’s what happened there:

  • Jesus stood in for you and as you.  He took the punishment for the sins of the whole world, including yours — past, present and future — upon Himself.
  • When He died, all of your sins were carried away, even the ones you haven’t committed yet.  You see, when Jesus died, all of your sins were in the future!   God exhausted His wrath on His beloved Son, so you could go free. When you believed in and on Jesus, God placed you in Christ forever.  There is no more sacrifice for sin left.   None.
  • In God’s view, it’s over.  “For I will be merciful to their unrighteousness, and their sins and lawless acts I will remember no more.”  Hebrews 8:12.  Let it sink in.
  • It gets even more astounding:  When Jesus took your sin upon Himself; the Bible says He gave you His righteousness.
  • Jesus became Sin and you became Righteousness.  How could you be made righteous in God’s eyes when you were a sinner?  The same way Jesus became sin in God’s eyes even though He was completely righteous:   God’s miraculous grace!
  • The old system of living by rules and regulations to earn God’s blessings and favor was also finished!  The new covenant of favor in Christ and being led from within by the Holy Spirit had begun.

When you really understand the weight of what happened at the Cross, you will never be the same.  The condemnation on your shoulders (you may be so used to this that you don’t even feel it) will lift off and evaporate.  Then and only then will you be free to live life as God intended:   Christ in you, through you — because you will finally be at rest from your own works.  

You will never be able to satisfy God through your efforts to live by the 10 commandments, not now, not ever.  Never.

Jesus is God’s satisfaction.   Will you finally receive it?

Gal 5:1; John 19:30; 1 John 2:2; Heb 9:14; Heb 8:12; Heb 8:10; 2 Cor 5:21; Rom 8:1; Heb 9:26

Lisa L

4 thoughts on “God is Satisfied with Jesus

  1. Amen, sister! Once I realized that ALL my sins were put on the cross with Christ (that is, sins past and sins future) and that He saw me as holy, blameless, without blemish did my walk with Him forever change. I went from a man that was “works” based, always trying to please God with my own efforts, to a son that rests in in His Father and knows the voice that says, “I’m proud of you.”

    That is the heart of our Father. He isn’t like many earthly fathers, but He is the perfect Father. We must learn to trust what HE says about us rather than what our emotions, our flesh, and our enemy says about us. For He is Truth, the rest are lies.

    Thanks for writing this.

    (I love the layout of your blog BTW)

    • Yes, Michael, for me too. Coming to know that I am the righteousness of God in Christ changed my life forever. Resting in that was like a lifeboat for me. It saved me from all the inner turmoil that came from trying to earn God’s favor by my doing. Nothing I ever did was good enough to please Him….until I realized he was already pleased with me! Now I know that it’s Jesus He is pleased with, and In Christ He views me through the same lens. Now I can relax….I’m in the vine and get to abide in the One who does the work. This is the best news. What a gospel! Thanks so much for commenting.

  2. This is the gospel, somehow it seems to have been lost in religion – but I love that the message of God’s grace and the power of the completed work of Christ is finding it’s way back into the church. Great work, Graeme

Leave a Reply

