I Want to be Your Home

I have made My home in you; will you make your home in Me?

I am your place of refuge, rest, comfort and beauty — the abiding place of your affections.   All your needs are met in Me, and I satisfy your true desires.  My living water flows to quench your thirst and fill your life with good things.  It’s here at home that I refresh and restore your soul.

I provide everything you need at just the right time.  I forgive all your sins, heal all your diseases, and crown you with love and tender mercies.  I joyfully renew your youth.  I am the place of perfect love, and I surround you with a peace that you will never know elsewhere.

Will you make your home in Me?

When you make Me your refuge, I will shelter you from harm, and my promises will protect you.  You won’t be afraid of storms, disasters, diseases or terrorists.  When you call on me I will answer you.  I will be with you in trouble, and I will rescue you!

I see you seek refuge in other homes, and I wait patiently, longing for your return.  I prepare a table for you that’s always ready, always waiting.  I delight in you, and miss you when you’re away.  I search for you from a distance, and my heart leaps when I see you returning.   Oh how I want to be your home every day, all day; you have no idea how much I want this.

I have made My home in you; will you make your home in Me?

John 14:23, Psalm 103, Psalm 145, Psalm 23, Psalm 90, Psalm 91, Luke 15

9 thoughts on “I Want to be Your Home

  1. Lisa,

    This is beautiful. As I was reading this, I was picturing Christ wooing His bride, trying to help her understand what is already true about her and His desire for Her to know what this new reality is. He is our home and dwelling place.

    Thx for sharing sister!

    • Thank you Jamal. I love the imagery of Jesus trying to lovingly convince His bride of the truth. Sometimes I think there is nothing that pains His heart more than seeing His people working and striving in life for things that are already theirs in Him, the one who is their very Life.

    • Thanks Gail. So true. The location of our heart reveals what we treasure. God is continually unveiling Himself as our true treasure so we can cease striving and abide in Him, our true home. Been thinking lately about people who lost homes in recent tornados. Can’t imagine what that would be like, and personallly would never want to face it without knowing Him as my refuge.

Leave a Reply

