Who Do You Think You Are?

Mistaken Identity, Identity Theft, Identity Crisis, The Bourne Identity….We hear the word “identity” frequently in our culture.  But do you know who you are now that you’ve received Jesus?  Do you know the significance of who you are now, as opposed to who you were the day — no, the minute — actually, the second before you received Him into your life by faith?

You are a New Creation.  The Bible says “the old is gone, the new is here.”  (2 Cor 5:17).  Everything about you is new!  You couldn’t be cleaned up, you had to die in Christ and be resurrected to someone new in Him.  This is an amazing truth that God wants you to receive.   The truth is, the way you walk this life is directly related to how you see yourself.

Here’s a look at some of the incredible changes that took place when you believed:

Before After
You were dead spiritually You are alive spiritually.  Rom. 5:17
You were an orphan. You are a son/daughter.  John 14:18, Gal 4:7
God called you a servant. God calls you a friend.   John 15:15
You were natural. You are supernatural.   Gal 2:20
You were a slave to sin (captive). You are a slave to righteousness (free) Rom 6:18
You were a sinner. You are perfect in God’s sight.  Heb 10:14
You were in darkness. You are the light of the world.  Matt 5:14

When I was in my twenties I searched for identity and meaning anywhere I could — I was open to just about any suggestion, even the ones that could get me into trouble.  I couldn’t read enough self-help books – my house was full of them.   Weeks after I came to know Jesus personally, I took the books off the shelves and put them in a box for the garbage.  That may sound extreme, but I knew I no longer needed them.  I no longer was searching for my identity.  I felt I knew who I was for the first time — perhaps as an adopted child feels when he first meets one of his birth parents.   My journey since then has been finding out more and more about who I am as a child of God.

Growing as a Christian happens not as we “get more of Jesus in us” or even “become closer to Jesus” as some teach.  It’s a matter of discovering who we became when we were “translated out of the kingdom of darkness and into the kingdom of His dear Son.” (Col. 1:13).  It’s letting our minds be renewed to the truth, and letting go of the old patterns of thinking that keep us living in our old identity.  I don’t know about you, but I’m willing to let go of the old me when I detect it is still hanging around.  I like the new me better.

A Christian who doesn’t know who he or she is in Christ is like a person living in a small shack, unaware of the oil well bubbling underneath.  Some believers live their entire lives without knowing about the oil well.   Do you know the riches, the wealth, the power, the freedom of the oil well inside of you?   Actually, it’s a well of water, living water, rising up inside of you to flow out to others.  Once we taste it, really taste it, and receive it, we will never thirst again.   Then we become an oasis to people thirsting for the love, power and grace of God.

Would love to hear from you.

Lisa L.

 

4 thoughts on “Who Do You Think You Are?

  1. I love your message, especially–“the truth is, the way you walk this life is directly related to how you see yourself.” How you see yourself determines the outcome for everything in your life!

  2. the imagery you use of the well spring of life reminds me of the river that flows from the temple in Ez 47. That vision is awesome. If you haven’t read it lately I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

